M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > BMW M5 (F10) General Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-21-2015, 10:36 PM   #1
Seanmag
M-enthusiast
Seanmag's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: '12 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (0)

M5 Sport Display (Torque/Power) - Memory Buttonable?

I really like having the Sport Display Power and Torque dials up on the head unit display while driving. While it may be a novelty that someday wears off.. it beats looking at the Navigation or Satellite Radio information all the time.

Question: Has anyone figured out how to program the Sport Display in to one of the 1 thru 8 memory buttons for easy access? I searched the board and could not locate any information.

Bonus Question: Has anyone figured out how to run a split screen of both Sport Display and Tire Monitors?

Loving the M5! - such a nice upgrade in both the luxury and power categories compared to the E92 M3.
__________________
Euro Delivery: 2015 /// F10 M5 / Singapore Grey-Full Merino Black / Executive / 343M Polished / Cosmetic IND Mods / M Performance Pedals

Last edited by Seanmag; 01-21-2015 at 10:53 PM. Reason: edit title
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 11:02 PM   #2
Nqwjx30
Captain
Nqwjx30's Avatar
17
Rep
724
Posts

Drives: 15' F10 M5
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (2)

I think you need to go to the menu and get to the point where you are going to click sport display, but don't open it. then press any of 1-8 button for couple seconds, it will be stored.
Appreciate 1
      01-21-2015, 11:08 PM   #3
Nqwjx30
Captain
Nqwjx30's Avatar
17
Rep
724
Posts

Drives: 15' F10 M5
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (2)

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...5&postcount=15

this explains better.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 11:12 PM   #4
eleven11
Captain
eleven11's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
801
Posts

Drives: -F10 M5 ZCP-
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Derby City

iTrader: (0)

Wait... I think I know what screen you're referring to, seeing it on some loaner vehicles, but I didn't realize you could see it on the M5. Where in the iDrive menu is this located?
__________________

2014 M5 ZCP - Current
2011 135i Coupe - Retired
2007 335i Sedan - Retired
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 11:18 PM   #5
Seanmag
M-enthusiast
Seanmag's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: '12 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nqwjx30 View Post
I think you need to go to the menu and get to the point where you are going to click sport display, but don't open it. then press any of 1-8 button for couple seconds, it will be stored.
Your guidance was perfect and Sport Display is now stored. Thanks!

It looks like I can enter quite a few views in to the split screen, including some BMW Widgets available online. No tire pressure and temperature views though (yet). I wonder if/how we can store more cool views in to the online BMW Widgets server
__________________
Euro Delivery: 2015 /// F10 M5 / Singapore Grey-Full Merino Black / Executive / 343M Polished / Cosmetic IND Mods / M Performance Pedals
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 11:19 PM   #6
Seanmag
M-enthusiast
Seanmag's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: '12 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eleven11 View Post
Wait... I think I know what screen you're referring to, seeing it on some loaner vehicles, but I didn't realize you could see it on the M5. Where in the iDrive menu is this located?
MENU ==> Vehicle info ==> Sport displays
__________________
Euro Delivery: 2015 /// F10 M5 / Singapore Grey-Full Merino Black / Executive / 343M Polished / Cosmetic IND Mods / M Performance Pedals
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2015, 11:48 PM   #7
Ray knight
Second Lieutenant
34
Rep
268
Posts

Drives: Alpine white F10 M5
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NE Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Mine does not seem to have it. 2013 model. My X5 has it. Cannot find it on the M5.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2015, 12:38 AM   #8
PhilT3
6'0 / 250lb
PhilT3's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
1,795
Posts

Drives: 2014 M5
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NW Philly Suburb

iTrader: (0)

Isn't this new for 2015?
__________________
Build: '14 M5 - Space Gray / Full Sakhir Orange / Alum Trace / Black 343's / Exec / Driver Assist / LED
Mods: SunTek CXP tint - Vinyl-wrapped door handle chrome - Macht Schnell 12mm spacers - Pedalhaus pedals - iND Cosmetic Package - Polished 90mm exh tips - Coded by v12 - 21" HRE S107's polished lip/black center
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2015, 08:53 AM   #9
Stiggly
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
2
Rep
275
Posts

Drives: M5 2014 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Damn I'm sure you cant do this on my LCI 2014?

UPDATE - No....just checked. Surely i can get this somehow??
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2015, 04:26 PM   #10
Stiggly
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
2
Rep
275
Posts

Drives: M5 2014 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Bump?
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2015, 09:44 PM   #11
Seanmag
M-enthusiast
Seanmag's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: '12 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiggly View Post
Damn I'm sure you cant do this on my LCI 2014?

UPDATE - No....just checked. Surely i can get this somehow??

My M5 is a 2015.

The Sport display is a cool feature.. and would be even better if you could view w/split screen TPMS of tire pressure and temp.

For pre-2015, I wonder if BMW could solve by adding to a future iDrive update or coding? Or asking the your local dealer if they can add it.. ?

Note: For those that have an '15 M5 with the Sport display, I love how the torque and power jump way over the advertised Torque and HP rating of the car. Who knows if/what is accurate.. it's still pretty cool
__________________
Euro Delivery: 2015 /// F10 M5 / Singapore Grey-Full Merino Black / Executive / 343M Polished / Cosmetic IND Mods / M Performance Pedals
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2015, 01:42 AM   #12
Igor@ONEighty
Igor@ONEighty's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
688
Posts

Drives: Black Rose F10 M5 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via Skype™ to Igor@ONEighty
What?!? I want this...

Surely it's doable with updating psdzdata to the latest version, I had to do that last year after retrofitting the touch idrive knob.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2015, 02:45 AM   #13
M6-Coupe
Brigadier General
M6-Coupe's Avatar
157
Rep
3,281
Posts

Drives: 2013 M6 Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Irvine, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanmag View Post
My M5 is a 2015.

The Sport display is a cool feature.. and would be even better if you could view w/split screen TPMS of tire pressure and temp.

For pre-2015, I wonder if BMW could solve by adding to a future iDrive update or coding? Or asking the your local dealer if they can add it.. ?

Note: For those that have an '15 M5 with the Sport display, I love how the torque and power jump way over the advertised Torque and HP rating of the car. Who knows if/what is accurate.. it's still pretty cool
What are the actual numbers of torque and HP you have reached on the display?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2015, 03:49 AM   #14
Igor@ONEighty
Igor@ONEighty's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
688
Posts

Drives: Black Rose F10 M5 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via Skype™ to Igor@ONEighty
Lets get a video
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2015, 04:05 AM   #15
Stiggly
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
2
Rep
275
Posts

Drives: M5 2014 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Is anyone able to shed any light on this.....can it be coded added to 2014 LCI??
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2015, 05:51 AM   #16
chris5150
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: BMW M5 30 YR Jahre
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.K

iTrader: (0)

I love my power & torque meters, its my default view, especially at night, looks very cool ...didn't realise it was a 2015 thing,fingers crossed for you that they can be added via software
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2015, 07:50 AM   #17
Bönz
Lieutenant
Bönz's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
554
Posts

Drives: 2015 M5
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

This can be coded on a 6 so I am sure it can be done on the M5. But I doubt the dealer will do it. Search the coding threads for assistance, procedures and other changes you can make.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2015, 07:02 PM   #18
Seanmag
M-enthusiast
Seanmag's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: '12 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sammamish, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Igor@ONEighty View Post
Lets get a video
I'll try to capture a video this weekend and post.

Do I need to post to YouTube and link to there, or can we upload vids here like pics?

Last edited by Seanmag; 01-23-2015 at 07:03 PM. Reason: edit
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2015, 01:12 PM   #19
v3n0m
Second Lieutenant
5
Rep
256
Posts

Drives: 2013 MCB M5
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC

iTrader: (0)

I was able to enable this via coding on my 2013 but the guages are not functional.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2015, 07:12 PM   #20
rjn21
Private First Class
3
Rep
100
Posts

Drives: 2014 M5 LCI
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

+1 with 2014 LCI with CP. Can code on the gauges but they don't work. I haven't tried again with the latest pszdata files though.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2015, 06:51 AM   #21
Stiggly
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
2
Rep
275
Posts

Drives: M5 2014 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjn21 View Post
+1 with 2014 LCI with CP. Can code on the gauges but they don't work. I haven't tried again with the latest pszdata files though.
Keep me posted matey....would love to turn this on
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2015, 08:26 PM   #22
halfbent
Peanut Butter Jelly Time
India
2
Rep
66
Posts

Drives: 2015 F10 M5
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (0)

2015 F10 M5 Sport Displays

This is off of my 2015... Is this what everyone's talking about?


Last edited by halfbent; 01-27-2015 at 10:17 AM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 AM.




m5post
m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST