M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > F10 M5 Pricing, Ordering, Tracking, and European Delivery

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-02-2012, 02:43 PM   #1
i3
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2010 650i Vert
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Destin, FL

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

Change HUD Speedometer to KPH

I'm on ED right now and I can figure out how to change the digital speedometer displayed on the HUD from MPH to KPH? Did any of you that have done ED figure out how to change it, if so how did you do it?

Thanks.
i3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #2
chillin4now
First Lieutenant
 
chillin4now's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 at Home
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Smocation

Posts: 330
iTrader: (0)

It is in I-drive settings, poke around a bit, you will find it.
HUD and the digital number on the dash are changeable separately.
__________________
Because; whats behind me doesnt matter.
chillin4now is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 04:09 PM   #3
stealth.pilot
Knight Commander ///
 
stealth.pilot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 M5 Individual
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South East USA

Posts: 4,716
iTrader: (0)

Under settings just change units from mph to kph.
__________________
2014 ///M5 Individual Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance plus, LED Pkg, Bang and Olufsen, 20" 343M Forged Alloy Wheels
Countermeasures: Bel StiR+, Laser Interceptor Quad HP, Zaon MRX
Upgrades: Eisenmann Sport with M Performance Carbon tips, Dinan anti-roll bars
stealth.pilot is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 10:43 PM   #4
johntomferg
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M5
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Decatur, Alabama, USA

Posts: 557
iTrader: (0)

I am in the same position as i3. I've also poked around the idrive quite a bit and have yet to find it...

Gotten used to doing the double-think each time but it is tiring...

That said, those that are confident it is there that want to post the explicit menu steps to get to the setting would get a thumbs up.
johntomferg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 11:21 PM   #5
nybimmerfan
Lieutenant
 
nybimmerfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 6-Spd Manual MCB M5
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NY

Posts: 431
iTrader: (0)

I am doing ED right now and am not at all bothered by things being displayed in mph on the display. I actually love the fact that the car is able to convert road posted speed limits in kph into mph on the HUD display.
nybimmerfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2012, 09:48 AM   #6
johntomferg
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 BMW M5
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Decatur, Alabama, USA

Posts: 557
iTrader: (0)

Okay, here is the deal... It's an indirect value change that will shift the HUD to metric. You need to go into settings and change the 'distance' units to kilometers. Not enough to just change the unit for speed to kph.

After that, the HUD will update.

NY, be careful as the HUD's speed limit sign if showing mph when reading Euro signs will round up/down within 5mph. This can very annoying firm me. But, if you are cool with it, then thanks!
johntomferg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST