M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > BMW M5 (F10) General Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-31-2012, 10:49 AM   #1
tx2900
New Member
 
Drives: F10 M5,Cayenne GTS,458 Spider
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas

Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)

My Homelink signal seems to be weak - anyone else?

I have my garage door programmed and working in the mirror. I am noticing though that the signal seems weak, and only works in close proximity and direct line to the receiver.

I have a Homelink mirror on 3 other cars and get much better range. I live in the condo tower, so the first garage door is at a turn and then i have a tight turn into my own garage. So it's a not straight drive up.

I have a note into my SA and just curious if anyone has noticed the same.

thanks.
tx2900 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-31-2012, 07:36 PM   #2
dropstart67
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 M5
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Yes, mine is the same...probably the weakest Homelink signal out of all the BMW's I had recently (2x E60's, E92, etc.) I don't think you're the only one. I noticed the same thing from day one.
dropstart67 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-31-2012, 08:16 PM   #3
mdernst
Private First Class
 
mdernst's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Tesla Model S
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Orleans, LA

Posts: 173
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Mine works great.

Make sure you have a fresh battery in the remote you are using to program the homelink with. I know it sounds strange but this recommendation is on Homelink's site and I have experienced a difference in my range when I've programmed the system with a new battery in the original remote.

Mike
__________________
Current: 2013 Tesla Model S
Previous: 2013 BMW M5; 2012 A7; 2011 S5; 2011 X5M; 2010 750Li; 2009 M3; 2008 X5; 2003 M5; 1998 540i 6 spd.
mdernst is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-31-2012, 10:24 PM   #4
Rob///M5
Major
 
Rob///M5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M5 SSII
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 1,342
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [5.00]
Yep, my range is much less with the car than with the garage remote.
__________________
Rob///M5 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2012, 12:57 AM   #5
singularity
Driver
 
singularity's Avatar
 
Drives: M5 (F10)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slovakia

Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

If I'm not mistaken, that's a security feature to make intercepting and decrypting signal from remote to the car more difficult.
singularity is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2012, 01:00 AM   #6
sfm5
New Member
 
Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SF

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Same thing here, just not much range. Also shows a little cost cutting putting it in the mirror, miss the E39's Homelink that had it in the headliner. That way you could push it without fear of moving your mirror.

Little things, but I've got my eyes on you, BMW. Stop making your cars like Honda and Hyundai makes them. Homelinks in mirrors be damned.
sfm5 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2012, 10:49 AM   #7
mcvaughan
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Silverstone F10 M5
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 284
iTrader: (0)

I think the HomeLink system on the F10 is definitely worse than the one I had on my E60. You have to hold the button longer, it seems, and I also believe the range isn't as good. I'm also having a problem programming one of my garage doors. No problems with my gate though. Hmmmm.
__________________
Matt
Silverstone F10 M5 - Akrapovič Evolution exhaust, iND Cosmetic package, Xpel clear bra, H&R sport springs, Macht Schnell wheel spacers
mcvaughan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
tx2900
New Member
 
Drives: F10 M5,Cayenne GTS,458 Spider
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas

Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdernst View Post
Mine works great.

Make sure you have a fresh battery in the remote you are using to program the homelink with. I know it sounds strange but this recommendation is on Homelink's site and I have experienced a difference in my range when I've programmed the system with a new battery in the original remote.

Mike
Thanks - I reprogrammed with a new remote and signal is definitely better. Still not excellent, but getting better response than previously.
tx2900 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 PM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST