M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > BMW M5 (F10) General Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-02-2012, 11:44 PM   #1
nugent
Captain
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Drives: f10 m5
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san francisco

Posts: 600
iTrader: (0)

speedo off anyone?

anyone else think their speedometer is off? mine seems to be about 5mph higher than the actual speed I'm going according to GPS. any way to check and adjust this?
__________________
e92 m3 6MT, RS4 6MT, S4 Avant 6MT, WRX 5MT, Corsica

nugent is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2012, 11:58 PM   #2
stealth.pilot
Knight Commander ///
 
stealth.pilot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 M5 Individual
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South East USA

Posts: 4,700
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nugent
anyone else think their speedometer is off? mine seems to be about 5mph higher than the actual speed I'm going according to GPS. any way to check and adjust this?
Yes it is about 3mph high. It is deliberate.

You can change the setting to actual speed via coding.
__________________
2014 ///M5 Individual Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance plus, LED Pkg, Bang and Olufsen, 20" 343M Forged Alloy Wheels
Countermeasures: Bel StiR+, Laser Interceptor Quad HP, Zaon MRX
Upgrades: Eisenmann Sport with M Performance Carbon tips, Dinan anti-roll bars
stealth.pilot is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 12:10 AM   #3
nugent
Captain
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Drives: f10 m5
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san francisco

Posts: 600
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stealth.pilot
Quote:
Originally Posted by nugent
anyone else think their speedometer is off? mine seems to be about 5mph higher than the actual speed I'm going according to GPS. any way to check and adjust this?
Yes it is about 3mph high. It is deliberate.

You can change the setting to actual speed via coding.
Thanks! I'll add that to my coding to-do list along with tire pressure numbers and rear drl's.
__________________
e92 m3 6MT, RS4 6MT, S4 Avant 6MT, WRX 5MT, Corsica

nugent is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 03:25 AM   #4
cairo
New Member
 
Drives: F10 M5 SG
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta / British Columbia

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Mine seems pretty accurate. We have a lot of those signs that displays your speed here and it has always matched the HUD
cairo is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 02:43 PM   #5
xDrive35i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: Audi A4 3.2; Porsche Macan S
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

Posts: 1,722
iTrader: (0)

European cars tend to exaggerate speed slightly. Up until the moment you learned that, you thought you were an undefeated speed demon.

Tire pressures and rim size have a negligible effect on speedo readout. The engineers build this cushion in so that even if there are variables out of your control, there's no way you can sue the company for an inaccurate speedometer.

Make sure when swapping for winter that you buy rims and tires with a total rolling radius equal to factory spec.
__________________
2001 Audi A6 Allroad 2.7T (C5); 2005 Audi A6 4.2 Quattro (C6); 2005 BMW X5 4.4i (E53); 2008 BMW 535xi Sports Wagon (E61); 2011 BMW X3 xDrive35i (F25); 2009 Audi A4 3.2 Quattro Prestige (B8); 2015 Porsche Macan S (October 2014 delivery)
xDrive35i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 02:48 PM   #6
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,303
iTrader: (0)

Yes, speedos read slightly high because it's illegal for them to read even 1% slow. Switching to a different tire size would definitely affect your readings, but not enough to be important at highway speeds. That really only comes into play if you're on the track gathering telemetry and really want to know your exact speeds, but in that case you'd be getting speeds from GPS anyway. I don't know whether BMW calibrates the speedometer differently depending on whether you ordered 19" or 20", but if not I suspect they calibrate for 20" because in that case switching to 19s means you'll be going slower than the speedo says.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 03:16 PM   #7
nugent
Captain
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Drives: f10 m5
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san francisco

Posts: 600
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
Yes, speedos read slightly high because it's illegal for them to read even 1% slow. Switching to a different tire size would definitely affect your readings, but not enough to be important at highway speeds. That really only comes into play if you're on the track gathering telemetry and really want to know your exact speeds, but in that case you'd be getting speeds from GPS anyway. I don't know whether BMW calibrates the speedometer differently depending on whether you ordered 19" or 20", but if not I suspect they calibrate for 20" because in that case switching to 19s means you'll be going slower than the speedo says.
makes sense. thanks.
__________________
e92 m3 6MT, RS4 6MT, S4 Avant 6MT, WRX 5MT, Corsica

nugent is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 03:52 PM   #8
mpresiv5
Private
 
mpresiv5's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maryland

Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

i thought the car is limited at 155mph, my HUD hit 165mph and then i felt the limiter kicked in. can the calibration be 10mph off at top speeds?
__________________
2013 M5 Alpine White / Black
mpresiv5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 03:54 PM   #9
LAKEOM5
Second Lieutenant
 
LAKEOM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M5 Black Sapphire
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon

Posts: 289
iTrader: (0)

Nope, board shorts for me.
LAKEOM5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2012, 04:21 PM   #10
jphughan
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,303
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpresiv5 View Post
i thought the car is limited at 155mph, my HUD hit 165mph and then i felt the limiter kicked in. can the calibration be 10mph off at top speeds?
Yes, error margins can be up to 8%, which would be even more than a 10 MPH difference at those speeds.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST