M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Coding

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-11-2013, 11:56 AM   #1
johntomferg
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
581
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M5
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbia, TN

iTrader: (0)

Song Information in HUD

When we took ED in October, both my wife and I remember distinctively that the song titles would appear in the HUD screen. I thought that was while we were listening to the radio, but perhaps it was via bluetooth to our iphones.

However, I have yet to see this "feature" work again since taking re-delivery in the US and I do not see any options to affect it in the iDrive system.

Any one more knowledgeable on this?
Did it "disappear" when software update occurred at the break-in service (which in my case was handled prior to re-delivery)??
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 12:09 PM   #2
M54ccibo
Major
M54ccibo's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,447
Posts

 
Drives: '13 F10 M5 AW/SO
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hmm. I don't remember this. The songs are on the "electronic display" in the instrument cluster. Spin the thumbwheel on the right side of the steering wheel and the songs will show in the "selection list" on the "electronic display."
__________________
Current ///M: '13 F10 M5, Alpine Weiss III/Sakhir Orange Full
BBS FI, Akrapovič Evolution, CF Delete, H&R Sport Springs, iND Cosmetics, Color matched M-Performance Spoiler, V1 Hardwire, Coded
Follow the M5army on Facebook and Youtube
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 12:19 PM   #3
RPiM5
Brigadier General
RPiM5's Avatar
95
Rep
4,885
Posts

 
Drives: Riviera Blue F10 M5(Mika)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.

iTrader: (0)

It's not supposed to be in the HUD, unless something like that can be coded. I wonder, hmmmmm....
__________________
Why did Santa Claus buy a BMW M5 instead of an M4? Because he needed the back seats for his Ho Ho Ho's.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 12:56 PM   #4
johntomferg
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
581
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M5
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbia, TN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M54ccibo View Post
Hmm. I don't remember this. The songs are on the "electronic display" in the instrument cluster. Spin the thumbwheel on the right side of the steering wheel and the songs will show in the "selection list" on the "electronic display."
It was definitely in the HUD...bottom right corner.

I know where you are talking about as well.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 12:57 PM   #5
jmh
Internet Crash Test Dummy
jmh's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
924
Posts

 
Drives: F10 M5/F32 435xi
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Under a rock in NH

iTrader: (4)

Not standard but it can be enabled via coding

In the KOMBI module the following needs to be coded:

Section 3000
- HUD_ENTERTAINMENT_ENABLE to aktiv (enables radio menu)
- HUD_TELEFONANRUF_ENABLE to aktiv (enables recent calls list to be displayed)

There is one more setting in the HU_NBT module under section 3000 for HUD_ENTERTAINMENTLIST.
Once this is set to active a checkbox will appear under the
settings -> Heads Up Display -> Displayed Information menu for
"Entertainment/Telephone" (however the checkbox cannot be selected)
__________________
13 F10 M5 Individual / Brilliant White / Extended/Full Cohiba Brown (Exec/Driver/B&O/20") / A few Euro add-ons / Stealth K40 / Upgraded B&O / ///M Performance Carbon Interior Trim / Color matched side and front grills (lightly tinted LEDs) / Akrapovic Evolution Exhaust / Hartge Springs / HRE S107
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 12:58 PM   #6
M54ccibo
Major
M54ccibo's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,447
Posts

 
Drives: '13 F10 M5 AW/SO
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPiM5 View Post
It's not supposed to be in the HUD, unless something like that can be coded. I wonder, hmmmmm....
Was just going to ask this, and JMH posted! Nice!
__________________
Current ///M: '13 F10 M5, Alpine Weiss III/Sakhir Orange Full
BBS FI, Akrapovič Evolution, CF Delete, H&R Sport Springs, iND Cosmetics, Color matched M-Performance Spoiler, V1 Hardwire, Coded
Follow the M5army on Facebook and Youtube
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 01:12 PM   #7
johntomferg
Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
581
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW M5
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbia, TN

iTrader: (0)

So since I didn't do anything in the way of coding when in Germany, I am less and less impressed with the software update that occurred during the break-in service.

I'll go code this back on - thanks JMH!
Still haven't overcome the speedometer offset. When I GPS verified it in Germany I was only off by 1 mph there, but here.... 4mph @ 70 after the update/re-delivery...sheesh.

Since I work for a software company and have an appreciation for software support processes, I can appreciate that BMW's software support channel for resolving "non-critical" problems created by updates has a long way to mature. :-)
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2013, 10:09 PM   #8
SANguru
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
376
Posts

 
Drives: F10 M5,F15 X5 50,F430,MP4-12C
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPiM5 View Post
It's not supposed to be in the HUD, unless something like that can be coded. I wonder, hmmmmm....
It showed up on my HUD when I took delivery in Munich too... perhaps it's tied to whether your car had a defective fuel pump or not!

Maybe you guys should ask for 2nd day of M school coupon for that..
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2013, 04:45 PM   #9
BarryB
Captain
United_States
11
Rep
769
Posts

 
Drives: 30Jahre M5 plus a few more M's
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palo Alto CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SANguru
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPiM5 View Post
It's not supposed to be in the HUD, unless something like that can be coded. I wonder, hmmmmm....
It showed up on my HUD when I took delivery in Munich too... perhaps it's tied to whether your car had a defective fuel pump or not!

Maybe you guys should ask for 2nd day of M school coupon for that..
Do you have it now?
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2013, 04:46 PM   #10
SANguru
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
376
Posts

 
Drives: F10 M5,F15 X5 50,F430,MP4-12C
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Do you have it now?
no. It's gone.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2013, 09:35 PM   #11
X5Blair
Private
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 M5
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
2010 BMW X535d  [0.00]
2011 BMW 335d  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to X5Blair
I had forgotten this but I think my car displayed in the HUD while in Germany as well. Maybe I'll put this on my coding list
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 12:34 PM   #12
PatrickC23
Lieutenant Colonel
PatrickC23's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
1,757
Posts

 
Drives: '13 F10 AW/SO ///M5
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NNJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW ///M5  [0.00]
Added this back yesterday with coding, pretty cool.
__________________
Retired - 2009 C63 l 2007 Supercharged RRS l 2002 e46 SMG ///M3 l 2001 e46 330ci

2013 Alpine White/Sakhir Orange F10 M5 - 20" Modulare Matte Titanium Brushed B18s - Coded by the best, V12
2014 Jeep JKU Wrangler Willys Wheeler W Unlimited - Granite Crystal/Black
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 04:12 PM   #13
URBAN LEGEND
Champ
URBAN LEGEND's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,116
Posts

 
Drives: '13 M5, '13 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johntomferg View Post
So since I didn't do anything in the way of coding when in Germany, I am less and less impressed with the software update that occurred during the break-in service.

I'll go code this back on - thanks JMH!
Still haven't overcome the speedometer offset. When I GPS verified it in Germany I was only off by 1 mph there, but here.... 4mph @ 70 after the update/re-delivery...sheesh.

Since I work for a software company and have an appreciation for software support processes, I can appreciate that BMW's software support channel for resolving "non-critical" problems created by updates has a long way to mature. :-)
Mine is off by 4 mph as well.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2013, 06:13 AM   #14
boots
Colonel
boots's Avatar
33
Rep
2,446
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Bmw m5..White/Blk.
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cypress Tx

iTrader: (0)

I need to use my garmin and see if mine is off.
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2013, 11:58 AM   #15
greentrbo95gst
Colonel
greentrbo95gst's Avatar
33
Rep
2,454
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Azurite Black M5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (1)

I had it as well when I was driving in Europe. I thought it was a cool feature. Don't have the car here yet so I cant confirm, but I should have it in my posession within couple weeks.
__________________
Sponsored by www.dtmhaus.net
E60 M5, E39 M5, E46 SC'd, F15 Diesel
2013 M5 Azurite Black.....1/4 mile F10 M5 11.07@128.68mph 1/2 mile 160.7mph
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2013, 09:30 PM   #16
JohnnyM1104
Private
0
Rep
55
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 M5 White/ Sak
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boca Raton, Fl

iTrader: (0)

Weird... My song titles show up on my HUD and it was a US delivery car... Hope this feature does disappear after 1200 service!!!! It's awesome
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2013, 10:05 PM   #17
B-1Pilot
Yankee Air Pirate
B-1Pilot's Avatar
13
Rep
856
Posts

 
Drives: '14 M5 w/CP
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: In a Hot Place

iTrader: (0)

It's standard in the HUD for 2014s.. So are incoming phonecalls
__________________
2014 ///M5 w/CP || My Epic ED trip report|| 2013 335ix || 2009 BMW R1200RT
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2013, 11:23 AM   #18
Neil McRae
BMW Motorsport
Neil McRae's Avatar
United Kingdom
40
Rep
2,058
Posts

 
Drives: BMW ///M3 E92 / BMW ///M5 F10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2012 BMW M5  [5.00]
2010 BMW M3 Coupe  [5.00]
Send a message via MSN to Neil McRae
standard on uk cars now.
__________________
--
Neil J. //McRae -- Alive and Kicking -- neil at DOMINO.ORG --///M ARMY
M5 DCT CP Alpine White -- M135i Alpine White -- M4 DCT Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2013, 11:35 AM   #19
Goranot
Private First Class
1
Rep
126
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw m5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Birmingham

iTrader: (0)

Mine is 2012 never seen it..is it easy to get coded..if so any contact details for V12 coding guru

Last edited by Goranot; 12-31-2013 at 11:40 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2013, 11:45 AM   #20
jmh
Internet Crash Test Dummy
jmh's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
924
Posts

 
Drives: F10 M5/F32 435xi
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Under a rock in NH

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goranot View Post
Mine is 2012 never seen it..is it easy to get coded..if so any contact details for Richard coding guru
If you have the e-sys software and the corresponding Psdz files it's a matter of minutes.
Attached is a spreadsheet I've been using for my F10 and F32 (it's based on a spreadsheet posted a while ago, I added a few items I found while looking around and added them to it, first page are the changes I made on my F10 (at least the ones I can remember)), remove the .zip extension to use it as a xls file

I think v12/Richard can only be reached via email , a few folks on here likely have his info
Attached Files
File Type: zip Fxx Cheat Sheet V3_0+_jmh.xlsx.zip (52.2 KB, 59 views)
__________________
13 F10 M5 Individual / Brilliant White / Extended/Full Cohiba Brown (Exec/Driver/B&O/20") / A few Euro add-ons / Stealth K40 / Upgraded B&O / ///M Performance Carbon Interior Trim / Color matched side and front grills (lightly tinted LEDs) / Akrapovic Evolution Exhaust / Hartge Springs / HRE S107
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2013, 01:10 PM   #21
Goranot
Private First Class
1
Rep
126
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw m5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Birmingham

iTrader: (0)

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2014, 12:55 AM   #22
tven99
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
36
Posts

 
Drives: 13' BMW M5 F10 Alpine White
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina

iTrader: (0)

I got my software updated today, and i found some odd things about my HUD, it looks very similar to the euro spec HUD but the speed limit info does not display the units in mph or kph. I have OCD and that really is bugging me, but when it comes to the exits or turns on the highway its huge and its really different. sorry if this might seem off topic
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST