M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Coding

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-28-2020, 05:05 AM   #1
rickyf10
Private
rickyf10's Avatar
Canada
36
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: May 2019
Location: VANCOUVER

iTrader: (0)

missing part of m view hud

Name:  7a60a1e9ccb00dd0d9de4602defd8315.jpg
Views: 93
Size:  75.5 KB
so i just realized that my m view hud is somehow different to other m5... i dont have the top part in the picture!
does anybody know if it can be enabled via coding? i did some research but did not find anything related.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 05:20 AM   #2
AlisterB
Private
Australia
41
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 LCI, F10 M5
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

FWIW I don't recall seeing that top bit in mine either (will have to have a closer look next time I take it out).
Appreciate 1
      05-31-2020, 02:06 AM   #3
AlisterB
Private
Australia
41
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 LCI, F10 M5
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Took the car out yesterday and these are definitely there.

Never really noticed them before - apparently they are shift lights.
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2020, 06:55 AM   #4
technician117
Lieutenant
United_States
160
Rep
445
Posts

Drives: 2000 M5, 2013 M5 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Buffalo

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1990 BMW M5  [0.00]
2000 BMW M5  [0.00]
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
The top "bars" are an exploded view of the last bit of the tach range so you can see when you re getting close to redline to time your shift. I find it useful when in middle to higher range gears. 1st and even 2nd gear whip past pretty quickly and are hard to keep track of on that display versus watching a tach needle sweep.
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2020, 08:13 AM   #5
Blaxwil
Second Lieutenant
108
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: 2015 M5
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

It's there on mine. Interesting. Wondering if it's a glitch. Did you reset your I-Drive?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2020, 03:38 PM   #6
rickyf10
Private
rickyf10's Avatar
Canada
36
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: May 2019
Location: VANCOUVER

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaxwil View Post
It's there on mine. Interesting. Wondering if it's a glitch. Did you reset your I-Drive?

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  34.7 KB
here's what mine looks like. I dont see any option for that in I-drive tho
A glitch? I'd say could be. Cuz occasionally, when I switch back to normal HUD view from M view, the moment I press the button, I can see the top part flashes and then gone. So i'm pretty sure it's not hardware issue, my HUD is able to display that It's more like a software glitch that the function is disabled somewhere in the coding part. But unfortunately I seem to be the only one got this problem
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST