M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > F10 M5 DIY Guides

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2015, 07:56 AM   #45
bigtex
Private First Class
25
Rep
163
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW M5 - sold
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas

iTrader: (2)

I disabled mine last night. It took me about 10 minutes to disconnect the cable. I have a custom muffler delete similar to the Turner setup and others. My drive to work this morning was virtually drone free!!! Thanks everyone for the suggestion and instructions.
__________________
2013 M5 - sold
2011 E90 M3 - Sold
Appreciate 1
      06-04-2015, 05:50 PM   #46
RPiM5
Major General
RPiM5's Avatar
2575
Rep
7,855
Posts

Drives: Mexico Blue F10 M5(Mika)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sunny San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtex View Post
I disabled mine last night. It took me about 10 minutes to disconnect the cable. I have a custom muffler delete similar to the Turner setup and others. My drive to work this morning was virtually drone free!!! Thanks everyone for the suggestion and instructions.
Isn't it awesome?! No more drone!
__________________


Appreciate 0
      06-09-2015, 02:32 PM   #47
Astar5704
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: Bmw f30
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Usa

iTrader: (0)

I tried to unplug it and it cut off all the sound from my audio so now idk how to remove the sound I did a custom audio system so all the speaker and the base is giving off the exhaust sound it's annoying
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2015, 12:36 AM   #48
celicatoe46m3
Private First Class
14
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: E60 M5 & E46 M3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (3)

I did it today, and I don't notice any difference. I don't have B&O. Is this still true that its more quiet?
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2015, 04:08 PM   #49
Allegiant
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: LA, CA

iTrader: (1)

Thanks for the instructions.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2015, 09:06 PM   #50
MUNIK-FL
Lieutenant
MUNIK-FL's Avatar
20
Rep
451
Posts

Drives: Nissan Titan XD
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

I did this last night. Took maybe 10 mins.

I have stock CP exhaust and the sound is quieter but better. It doesn't sound like GranTurismo anymore and you can even hear the burps and farts better.
__________________
2007 E92 335i / Montego Blue/Black - European Delivery - Retired
2013 F10 550i / Alpine White/Cinnamon - Retired
2014 F10 M5 / Singapore Gray/Sakhir Orange - Retired
2016 F15 X5 XDrive50i / Black/Black - Current
__________________________________________________
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2016, 08:17 PM   #51
Hellrot Sachin
First Lieutenant
29
Rep
344
Posts

Drives: TiAg E90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (3)

So you can, or cannot disable this connector with the B&O system? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2016, 11:14 AM   #52
Rosspbig
Private First Class
United_States
11
Rep
141
Posts

Drives: 2013 M5
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrot Sachin View Post
So you can, or cannot disable this connector with the B&O system? Thanks.
On the second page of posts, someone said yes this works with the B&O stereo. I cannot confirm though myself. Seems like something that is pretty easy to try for yourself.
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2016, 11:05 PM   #53
lalaura
Private
14
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: L.A.

iTrader: (0)

E-sys can disable ASD

ASD also can be disabled with E-sys interface

main steps:

Connect to your car

Choose target chassis F010

Read FA

Read SVT

Right click on the ASD module -> “Read Coding data”

then right click on the CAFD and “Edit”.

Enter PIN and edit the following parameters: (Disable Active Sound Design Values)

Save the changes, click back, “Activate FA” and “Code FDL”

done!
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2016, 08:30 PM   #54
TrevorM3
Major General
1933
Rep
6,590
Posts

Drives: 6.3 AMG
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

so disabling it, anyone have a vid from inside the cabin??
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2016, 04:43 PM   #55
financenick
Private First Class
58
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: BMW M5 F10 - 2016
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: London UK

iTrader: (0)

Ok so we tried this tonight on my 2016 M5 (UK model) and unfortunately it disables the stereo too
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2016, 02:53 PM   #56
TheHouseWon
Colonel
TheHouseWon's Avatar
612
Rep
2,033
Posts

Drives: 2013 M5
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by financenick View Post
Ok so we tried this tonight on my 2016 M5 (UK model) and unfortunately it disables the stereo too
which version of esys and pzdata do you have?
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2016, 05:35 PM   #57
financenick
Private First Class
58
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: BMW M5 F10 - 2016
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: London UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHouseWon View Post
which version of esys and pzdata do you have?
Wish i knew what you mean, its too techy for me to understand
Appreciate 1
OneExtra756.00

      04-04-2016, 11:40 PM   #58
TheHouseWon
Colonel
TheHouseWon's Avatar
612
Rep
2,033
Posts

Drives: 2013 M5
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by financenick View Post
Wish i knew what you mean, its too techy for me to understand
how did you attempt to disable ASD?
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2016, 07:03 AM   #59
financenick
Private First Class
58
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: BMW M5 F10 - 2016
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: London UK

iTrader: (0)

I just unplugged the ASD unit like the OP suggested

BUT NOW HAVE AN UPDATE:
Ive removed fuse No#200 ASD now off and stereo still works, job done !!
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2016, 08:48 AM   #60
TheHouseWon
Colonel
TheHouseWon's Avatar
612
Rep
2,033
Posts

Drives: 2013 M5
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by financenick View Post
I just unplugged the ASD unit like the OP suggested

BUT NOW HAVE AN UPDATE:
Ive removed fuse No#200 ASD now off and stereo still works, job done !!
You should look into coding. Or maybe not since you don't have to unshakle a US spec car
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2016, 04:47 PM   #61
Rosspbig
Private First Class
United_States
11
Rep
141
Posts

Drives: 2013 M5
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

I can confirm this process at the beginning of this thread does work with the B&O system.
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2016, 12:19 PM   #62
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
74
Rep
263
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

I own a F30 328i, and I would love to have an ASD in my car (my 2013 hasn't got any). So if anyone of you have unplugged it and doesn't plan to use it I would gladly buy it from you for a reasonable sum and pay for shipping.

Please contact me via PM, thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2017, 08:00 AM   #63
Qwertym5
Enlisted Member
Scotland
3
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: F13 M6GC CP
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fort William

iTrader: (1)

Unplugged mine this morning.
It's a 5 min job once you know how!
Only need a small thin flat head screwdriver.
Just unplug the only 3 poppers in left side of the the trunk.
Free the trunk lining from the rubber weather seal.
Free the trunk lining from around the left trunk lid strut. Free it out towards you.
Study the pics at the start of this post.
Robustly loosen the left side lining out far enough to get your arm in to the connector. The connector has a small press clip on its end to release the lever.
Disconnect and leave hang.
Easy to refit the lining and poppers.
The car is fabulously quiter at cruise, although you loose the nice but artificial V8 burble on hard accelaeration.
Only a 5 min job to replace.
Appreciate 1
Ickdeep4781.50

      02-13-2017, 03:42 PM   #64
beach48
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: 2013 F02 760LI
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Bristol UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by financenick View Post
I just unplugged the ASD unit like the OP suggested

BUT NOW HAVE AN UPDATE:
Ive removed fuse No#200 ASD now off and stereo still works, job done !!
So what system is in your car? i have the pro nav, i think thats how they rate it
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2017, 06:14 AM   #65
Qwertym5
Enlisted Member
Scotland
3
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: F13 M6GC CP
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fort William

iTrader: (1)

I tried removing the fuse in my Dec 15 CP car but the stereo stopped working also.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2017, 03:21 PM   #66
BDWonder
Captain
117
Rep
733
Posts

Drives: 2016 M5
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: California/BK NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinluv949 View Post
I just did it today 2015m5 with HK
There is no need to remove, all the trunk lining.
Just pull the 3 plastic holders, peel back the liner stick your hand down there push the plug and unplug it.

Took me 5min
can you please dive in little more into details on this? I'd love to try it.
Thanks dude!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST