M5POST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M5POST - BMW M5 Forum > F10 M5 Forum > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Coding

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-11-2016, 03:35 PM   #1
M5 Power
Private
Canada
17
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 2014 M5 F10 CP
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Compass Directions on Navigation/Head up Display

Is anyone knows how to code the F10 so that you can display compass (traveling direction) on either I Drive Navigation or Head up display (this will be so cool)
Because as far as I know F10 don’t have the compass info on the rear view mirror anymore. I know you can have the “N” pointing on the navigation or have the co-ordinates display when you have it on split screen but this doesn’t show which direction you are traveling
If you update the maps to the latest version any new feature available?
Any Ideas?
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2016, 07:58 PM   #2
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1834
Rep
7,610
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Map updates come with new roads and POI. That is different from updating NBT firmware/ software through flash programming.

HU_NBT: Compass: aktiv
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2016, 09:43 AM   #3
M5 Power
Private
Canada
17
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 2014 M5 F10 CP
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

So, is it possible to do this via firmware update? do you have more info
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2016, 10:54 AM   #4
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1834
Rep
7,610
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M5 Power View Post
So, is it possible to do this via firmware update? do you have more info
Thanks
Possible through coding. Funktion parameter shown above.

To Flash, see this guide. It requires a PSU (not just a trickle charger/battery tender) & full Psdzdata. Flashing can also be done with ISTA+ and ICOM as well as ISTA-P and ENET or ICOM.

For map updates, there are multiple sources. If you have FSC codes pre-loaded like me, all you need is map data and large enough USB. If not, you need need map activation codes.
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2016, 12:39 AM   #5
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1834
Rep
7,610
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Other option is in instrument cluster:

Appreciate 0
      10-29-2016, 01:20 AM   #6
momos750
Captain
momos750's Avatar
138
Rep
714
Posts

Drives: 2015 M5, 2011 750Li
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by M5 Power View Post
So, is it possible to do this via firmware update? do you have more info
Thanks
Possible through coding. Funktion parameter shown above.

To Flash, see this guide. It requires a PSU (not just a trickle charger/battery tender) & full Psdzdata. Flashing can also be done with ISTA+ and ICOM as well as ISTA-P and ENET or ICOM.

For map updates, there are multiple sources. If you have FSC codes pre-loaded like me, all you need is map data and large enough USB. If not, you need need map activation codes.
How do you get FCS codes? Is that done through E-Sys?
__________________
2015 M5 - Singapore Grey Metallic - Silverstone Full Merino Interior - Executive Pack - Drivers Assist Pack -Comp Pack -
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2016, 01:22 PM   #7
M5 Power
Private
Canada
17
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 2014 M5 F10 CP
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

I want to get this done, can you help me pls

This is how my dash looks like, you can insert the compass direction in the middle?
This is want
Can you display it on the HUD?
Thanks,
Attached Images
 

Last edited by M5 Power; 10-31-2016 at 01:29 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2016, 02:36 PM   #8
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
1834
Rep
7,610
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by momos750 View Post
How do you get FCS codes? Is that done through E-Sys?
There are two groups of FSC activation Codes:
  • Map codes
    • E-sys, SWID Reader, or FTP into car to download current FSC set. Then use secondary program to generate either Map Specific (eg, North American Next 2017-1) or lifetime (eg, NA American Next Lifetime) FSC code which is manually entered into idrive via controller knob. This method excludes HU_NBT2, which has a new FSC scheme.
    • Script activation for older head units (eg, HU_CIC).
  • All Other FSC codes (eg, SLI)
    • Requires BMW ASAP (Aftersales Assistance Portal) to pull VIN specific FSC files that can be loaded with E-sys.
Quote:
Originally Posted by M5 Power View Post
I want to get this done, can you help me pls

This is how my dash looks like, you can insert the compass direction in the middle?
This is want
Can you display it on the HUD?
Thanks,
The Compass is one of the Instrument Cluster BC toggles (eg, Arrival time, Average consumption, EcoPro bonus range, etc).
Settings for HUD & dash are found both in cluster (eg, KOMBI) & Head Unit (eg, HU_NBT) ECU.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2018, 03:54 PM   #9
TLK
Second Lieutenant
TLK's Avatar
79
Rep
294
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 CP, '12 550i, '04 545i
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

https://www.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...php?p=23188497
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2018, 04:02 PM   #10
TLK
Second Lieutenant
TLK's Avatar
79
Rep
294
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 CP, '12 550i, '04 545i
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Cannot be added to HUD.

The reason the cluster in almaretto's post looks different than yours is because it is not an M5 cluster.

Once you do the coding it takes a few minutes to take effect. Then you can press BC button on stalk and compass is added to the data displays you can cycle through.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2019, 12:30 AM   #11
dzz
Private
12
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 535xi
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW  [0.00]
compas on Instrument cluster coded

see the pic below
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2019, 03:21 PM   #12
M5 Power
Private
Canada
17
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 2014 M5 F10 CP
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Compass on Display

Hi,

Can you please help me code it or send me the contact info for the person who did it for you

I want to get this done as well

Thanks,
Neil
neil.anandarajah@bell.net
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2019, 10:16 PM   #13
TLK
Second Lieutenant
TLK's Avatar
79
Rep
294
Posts

Drives: '14 M5 CP, '12 550i, '04 545i
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

https://www.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...php?p=23188497
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST