Autotalent
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

11-29-2014, 03:28 PM   #1
zosoboogie
Banned
United_States
Rep
Drives: YMB M4/Silverstone

Brembo Brakes Question

Not sure if this question has been asked before however is there a noticeable braking difference between getting the Brembo GT Big Brake Kit and the Brembo GT-R Big Brake Kit on the track?

The price difference is huge and at the track I am not an expert driver at all so any honest input would be great, Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2014, 03:50 PM   #2
gthal
Major General
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2018 340i xDrive

My honest opinion is you are wasting your $$$.

I have been tracking cars for years and the OEM brakes with a set of track pads and fluid is all this car needs. I had no issues with very hard 30 minute lapping sessions at all. The OEM rotors and calipers are absolutely up to the task ESPECIALLY for a more intermediate driver.

If you upgrade to bigger Brembo brakes then you are doing it for the feel good factor only IMO. Spend your money on track wheels and tires and HPDE registration fees. Just my opinion.
2015 M4 | Austin Yellow | DCT
2012 MB C63AMG | 2011 E92 M3 | 2010 E92 M3
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2014, 04:03 PM   #3
zosoboogie
Banned
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthal View Post
My honest opinion is you are wasting your $$$.

I have been tracking cars for years and the OEM brakes with a set of track pads and fluid is all this car needs. I had no issues with very hard 30 minute lapping sessions at all. The OEM rotors and calipers are absolutely up to the task ESPECIALLY for a more intermediate driver.

If you upgrade to bigger Brembo brakes then you are doing it for the feel good factor only IMO. Spend your money on track wheels and tires and HPDE registration fees. Just my opinion.