03-31-2014, 04:17 AM   #1
tremnon
Rep
Drives: no comment

Ordering system experience

Dear BMW,
you just lost a first-time customer.

Just to share my experience:
- reserved car in July 2013, even before the car was presented, and the first day reservations were possible
- received a reservation code
- in February I was told that soon it would have been possible to order the car
- on Friday i've been invited to place an order today (i.e. in March) at BMW itself, I'm not talking about a dealer here (I'm in Germany)
- went there this morning, I was ready to order the car...
- ... until when they talked me about delivery in December ("production starts in October" LOL!)

At that point I walked out.
I'm an engineer in an high-technology company, and I *fully* understand that it takes time to prepare and ramp production and I'm also *fully* willing to wait what has to be waited... That said, this ordering system is clearly not handled as a customer queue, and I probably should have gotten a Porsche a few months ago instead of waiting for this bullshit purchase experience moment.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2014, 07:07 AM   #2
ddk632
Chief Senior Executive Managing VP of Orange Sales
United_States
Rep
Drives: 17 BMW F87 M2 6MT MG HBDGR !

Interesting. Sorry to hear of the frustrating experience.

Were you first on your dealer's list?

Start of production in October goes against everything we've bee hearing regarding the i8. Unless they meant your i8 would start in October... In which case it is possible / quite likely there were others on the list before you from other dealers and/or countries.

It's a limited run car and is being exported to a large number of countries. I can see where allocations can seem all over the place.